There are seven permanent members of the faculty of the Nautical Archaeology Program. The special areas of interest among the current members are varied and encompass a broad spectrum of issues in nautical archaeology and maritime history. Faculty members teach courses in the program, as well as conduct research and direct projects throughout the year. Each of the faculty are affiliated with the Center for Maritime Archaeology and Conservation (CMAC) and the Institute of Nautical Archaeology (INA).

Kevin J. Crisman; 1990-present

Director, New World Laboratory
Professor, Nautical Archaeology Faculty Fellow

Shelley Wachsmann; 1993-present

Meadows Professor of Biblical Archaeology

Cemal Pulak; 1997-present

Director, Old World Laboratory
Professor, Frederick R. Mayer Faculty Professor I of Nautical Archaeology
Program Coordinator, Nautical Archaeology Program 

Deborah N. Carlson; 2004-present

President, Institute of Nautical Archaeology 
Associate Professor, Sara W. and George O. Yamini Fellow

Christopher M. Dostal; 2018-present

Director, Center for Maritime Archaeology and Conservation
Director, Conservation Research Laboratory
Director, Analytical Archaeology Laboratory
Assistant Professor, INA Faculty Fellow

Carolyn Kennedy; 2020-present

Instructional Assistant Professor

George F. Bass; 1976-2000

Professor Emeritus

J. Richard Steffy; 1976-1990

Founder, J. Richard Steffy Shiplab

Frederick H. van Doorninck, Jr.; 1976-1996

Professor Emeritus

C. Wayne Smith; 1997-2015


Donny L. Hamilton 1978-2020

Professor Emeritus

Luis Filipe Vieira de Castro; 2001-2021